This is Me

Champagne was poured, party favors handed out, the excitement in the room was contagious, everyone shouting down 5-4-3-2— HAPPY NEW YEAR!  It was officially 2014 and not surprisingly my date had not made it in time for that infamous New Year kiss as a matter of fact, he hadn’t made it all and I decided this year was going to be different.  This year was going to be about me and change.

Change had been a bit of a theme in the last few months but with a New Year brought new opportunities, new enthusiasm and ultimately new hope.  Never had really thought about New Year’s resolutions before but this year I was on a mission, I had goals and I figured it was time to write them down before I got caught up in too much champagne and forgot exactly what 2014 was going to be for me.

2014 New Year’s Resolutions:

1.  Volunteer more – ‘Treat people the way you want to be treated’ has always been my belief. Being blessed with many wonderful things in my life, it was time to pass a little of that on to those way more deserving than me.

2.  Start a blog – Ever since I was young I enjoyed writing and telling stories, this couldn’t be more perfect for me.  Diaries, journals, letters, stories, papers for school, speeches…I loved it all.  Anytime I could put my words down in hopes that someone, somewhere, some day might read or hear them, be touched by them, laugh at them or be inspired by them I wrote.  Now here’s the perfect avenue for all FullSizeRender1 (3)of that, why wasn’t I jumping on this opportunity earlier?

3. Take more moments to look at your surroundings – Staring at the stars is one of my all time favorite things to do and I had gotten away from it.  I think we all get away from our favorite things now and again.  Nature is surrounding us each and everyday, look beyond the surface and see the beauty it beholds, you’ll be amazed and life will be simple again even if it’s just for that moment.

4. BELIEVE – is what I tell myself everyday, no matter what challenges life throws at me, because there’s a reason for it and you’ll get through it if you just believe.

After a while the list got pretty long and I realized I hadn’t just created 2014 New Year’s Resolutions, I had created what some may call a bucket list, I like to call it life adventures that I want to experience.  Some resolutions or adventures may take a little longer than others, but I have my list to remind me of what I want to do for me.

As I headed back to the party to join my friends I was ready for what life was going to bring my way in 2014 and years to come and I was ready to do it in my new Red Sparkly Boots!

Leave a Reply

