Growing Up

For as long as I can remember I couldn’t wait to be older and “living” my life, doing adult things…I couldn’t wait to grow up. We all have thought it. I listen to my niece now always giving her age and a half. Constantly trying to hurry up and get older. Now that I’m at an age where I feel like I’ve lived some life, learned some hard lessons along the way and maybe even grown a little wiser, I wonder why was I in such a hurry to grow up?

Don’t get me wrong I love the life I’m in and wouldn’t change any of it for the world. But there are days, like today, that I would love to be able to not have a worry or concern in the world. Or have my biggest concern be that night, that I might not like what my mom was making for supper. It seems most of us have been trying our whole lives to be adults but are we ever really adults or do we just become a little wiser and grow a year older?

If you asked me to go sing and dance in the rain tonight, I would. Why not? Want to make a fort? I’m in. Shall we drive out in the country to make a wish upon a falling star? I’d love nothing more. I want to make cookies and really just eat all the cookie dough because I can. But I also want to have a glass of wine as I share laughs with my friends and loved ones.

Today, I’ve decided not only will I be an adult, but I’m going to be kid too, because I can. We got this one life to live and who knows when God will call us home, might as well enjoy every moment we have and have as much fun along the way. Yes, for as long as I can remember all I wanted to do when I was younger was grow up and now that I’m “grown up” I think I’ll be every age I’ve ever been and act all those ages when the moment calls for it, because every year and every experience has led me to be who I am today and so for the moment I don’t think I’ll grow up and perhaps just for today I’ve decided I’m going to be a kid and I think Walt Disney said it best “That’s the problem with the world, too many people grow up.”

disney

Leave a Reply

