Happy Cry

Today I was on the website Buzzfeed (a time waster website at it’s finest) and there was an article on there that was explained as a game…”The Happy Cry Game”. Basically the idea is how far can you get on this page before you begin to Happy Cry, well I’m about as emotional as emotional can get so I started to tear up the first post on the page I read…Yeah I suck at this “game” and I lose. But is it really losing when it comes to a happy cry? Not really. But it made me think of one of my very own happy cry moments and thought I’d share, if you don’t mind.

Let me begin with a little background information on myself. I am the only girl of four, yes I have three brothers: two older and one younger. However the even more interesting part of this is, when I was born I was the first girl born on my dad’s side of the family in 37 years. Needless to say my mom told me that when I was born my father was a little scared and asked, “What do I do with a girl”? She responded with “you’ll be just fine”. Just fine my dad was.

I myself can’t imagine what it must be like knowing what boys think and act and fear for what could happen to your daughter one day and do your best to protect them but give them the space to make mistakes along the way as well. My father has always been a man of few words when it comes to certain areas, especially dating, but the words he does say are always the right ones and very profound.

Growing up my parents always told me they loved me and taught me what it meant to love and to treat people good, even when they treat me poorly. But it’s those little acts of kindness from your parents, when you least expect them, that stick with you for life and make you appreciate all they have done and sacrificed for you happiness.

5c40a85d0b7e2ad12ecb08b1c1a94489The moment I’ll never forget with my dad was Valentine’s Day 1999. It was my senior year of high school and my boyfriend, my first real love had broken up with me the day before. Devastation couldn’t even begin to explain how I felt at that moment. What must run through a parents mind at that time, I do not know, but it must be painful watching your child in pain and not know what to do and to try and find the right words must be nearly impossible.

My mom, obviously understanding what it’s like to be a female and emotional did the best she could to comfort me but the unexpected comfort came from my father. Everyone was getting ready to go out to eat and I had opted out and had to decided to stay at home. My eyes were swollen, nose runny and my heart broken…nothing could change my mood.
My parents and younger brother were just about to leave when I heard a knock on my bedroom door. It was my daddy. He came in and handed me a small little box, wrapped in pretty pink paper with a little bow placed delicately on top. He hadn’t said a word and I began to open my pretty little gift curious to see what was inside. As I began to take the cover off he began to speak, “Megan I know I don’t have the right words to take away the pain you are feeling and put the pieces of your heart back together. Please, know this though, time will heal the pain. I can’t tell you how long it will take or when it will be okay but know it will. Also know that it might not be your only heart break, it can and probably will happen again. But always know that no matter what happens in life, where you are and who comes in and out of your life…I’ll always be there and you my lovely daughter will forever hold the key to my heart.” With that he took out a beautiful sterling silver necklace in the shape of a key with a heart shape top made out of an emerald, my birthstone and his. He gave me a giant hug and I wept not just tears of pain but Happy Cry tears for I knew, no matter how much my heart may break through the years it will heal and I’d always have the love of my dad, my mom, my family, friends and so many more and I always will.

Rules I feel many Fathers believe in.

Rules I feel many Fathers believe in.

4 thoughts on “Happy Cry

Leave a Reply

