When Did We Forget?

I don’t know when it happened but it did.

Tuesday, September 11, 2001, 14 years ago, it’s a day I’ll never forget, it’s a day none of us will ever forget. It was the day that changed America forever. It was the day that four planes were hijacked and two of them flew straight into the Twin Towers in New York City, another slammed into the pentagon and the fourth never made it’s actual destination, as the hostages on the plane tried to take back control and it was destroyed in a field in Pennsylvania. 9-11, it’s a day we will never forget and if you were alive at the time and old enough to remember you still vividly remember where you were when you heard the earth shattering news.

Me, I was a Junior at Concordia College in Moorhead, MN living in a house with four of my best girlfriends. I had just got home from early morning class. Returning to take a quick shower before my next class. I was just about to rinse the conditioner out of my hair when the dj cut into the song I was jamming to stating “I interrupt with some breaking news…a plane has just crashed into the World Trade Center in New York City…” they went on but I missed it, I was rinsing off fast and running to the TV. Threw on a towel and ran out asking one of my roommates, “what the hell is going on, quick turn the TV on” and there it was, the twin tower billowing with smoke, we sat there staring in disbelief, listening to what was being said but yet not understanding. Then it happened on LIVE TV, another plane crashed into the second tower. Threw on some clothes and ran to class where we gathered and tried to comprehend together what had happened.

**   ADDS INFORMATION REGARDING SOURCING OF IMAGE **   This photo taken Sept. 11, 2001 by the New York City Police Department and obtained by ABC News, which claims to have obtained it under the Freedom of Information Act, shows smoke and ash engulfing the area around the World Trade Center in New York. (AP Photo/ NYPD via ABC News, Det. Greg Semendinger) MANDATORY CREDIT

** ADDS INFORMATION REGARDING SOURCING OF IMAGE ** This photo taken Sept. 11, 2001 by the New York City Police Department and obtained by ABC News, which claims to have obtained it under the Freedom of Information Act, shows smoke and ash engulfing the area around the World Trade Center in New York. (AP Photo/ NYPD via ABC News, Det. Greg Semendinger) MANDATORY CREDIT

There were lots of questions over the next few days, but by the very next day one thing was certain, we were a stronger country, we were a more loving and compassionate country…we were a country that stood UNITED.

Every year we commemorate 9/11 in many different ways, through social media, through ceremonies across the country, by sharing our remembered stories and for some by shedding a tear or two remembering the lives lost, the heroes who went in and never came out. Those on flight 93 who helped to steer the flight off course and save more lives by never having it reach it’s unknown intended target.

Today I woke and began reading the stories again and remembering it all over and I couldn’t help but tear up and wonder, if the fallen were still here today what would they think of where our country has gone? That was a time that we stood together as one and now we stand apart. I think they’d be sadden and most of all disappointed.

Yes, today we say “NEVER forget” but tomorrow will we remember? There has been so many horrible stories that litter the news these days it hurts my heart to even turn it on. There was an innocent man or woman shot here, there was a cop targeted there because he was doing his job, a child’s life was taken…because why? We aren’t standing United we are standing apart.

There is good out there, I know there is, I see it but we don’t often hear it. It’s time to take back what’s right and remember that we all matter. You matter, he matters, she matters, they matter, we matter, I matter…ALL matter. When did we come to the mentality if you aren’t with me, you are against me? Isn’t different thoughts and ideas exactly what built this country to begin with?

With that said, I ask you, When did we forget? I don’t know when it happened but it did. So this I challenge to myself and to you, remember. Don’t just remember one day but remember the other 364 days as well. Our country is known as the United States of America for a reason, isn’t it time we proved that again? Let us quicken to love, not hate. Let us listen to one another, not argue. Let us help, not turn the other way. Let us stand United, not apart. Let us remember and not forget…

I pledge allegiance to the flag

Of the United States of America

And to the Republic, for which it stands

One Nation, Under God, Indivisible,

With liberty and justice for all.

Leave a Reply

