Hello and Goodbye

Hello 2017…goodbye 2016 I thought to myself at midnight while yelling out “Happy New Year” among friends. Reflecting on the last year I wonder, where did the time go? Seems like it was only yesterday I was welcoming in 2016 and looking ahead to a year I thought for sure was going to be one of the best. I’d be lying if I said 2016 was everything I had hoped for and more because 2016 wasn’t the year I had thought it was going to be and definitely didn’t go how I thought it would. Straight up my first initial thought as 2017 inched near and 2016 came to a close, was “this year sucked”.

But then the optimist in me stopped to really think about it and despite the heartbreak, the loss of loved ones and disappointments the year brought there were some pretty incredible things that happened and that’s what I need to remember more than anything. In 2016 I formed some pretty incredible friendships that I wouldn’t trade anything for. Got to meet my favorite country artist Dustin Lynch.

Finally met my favorite country straits Dustin Lynch

I learned to look fear in the face by doing a Challenge Course with some of the most beautiful and inspiring women I have ever met. I spent countless days at the lake laughing, soaking up the sun and enjoying life. I got the fast car I always wanted and named it the White Knight to prove to myself I am okay just me.

My “White Knight”

I began the venture of looking for a place to call my own. I officially joined a church in Moorhead. I had a blast and survived (my voice  not so much) working with my pretty awesome co-workers at We Fest with BOB 95, being for the first time, the official We Fest station.  I took a trip to Nashville with some of my dearest and best girlfriends on a long needed girls trip. I got to experience the Vikings play at the new U.S. Bank Stadium, not once, but twice this year. I finally cut 10″ of my hair to donate to “Children with Hair Loss” and it was exhilarating. Last but not least I spent time with family, friends and loved ones.

Like I was saying 2016 didn’t go how I thought it was going to go but you know what I realized…2016 you didn’t suck, you were actually pretty good to me, you were a challenge for me at times that’s all. But because of this year I know I’ve grown stronger and I’ll continue to do so. Life or should I say God will challenge us but it’s our attitude and how we choose to deal with them that makes the difference.

So in parting with 2016 I say this…thank you for the friendships, the heartache, the challenges, the tears, the fun, the sadness, the laughter and the memories. Thank you for them all because they got me to where I am right now and I have an even better feeling that 2017 truly is going to be amazing and will be full of surprises, challenges and more but I’m ready, ready to say hello to 2017!

 

Leave a Reply

