Mama Zee

January 10, ten days into the new year or what I like call to my mom’s birthday. A day that I will forever be grateful for because without her I would definitely not be here nor would I be even close to half the person I am today.

Anyone who knows me or has heard me on the radio has heard me tell a story or two of Mama Zee and since it is her birthday it only seems right to share another, one that shows how kind and loving my mom truly is.

To set a precedent of what was expected in our household growing up my mom was as kind as kind could be but she definitely set her standards. Her children were to be well mannered, went to church, studied, worked hard, and never and I mean NEVER were to swear. That was the one thing she was very strict about. Which could be entertaining at times considering dad did use the ocassional swear word. Laughing back at it now there were a few words on the swear word list that were a little suspicious…

  1. Shut up
  2. Suck
  3. Dummy
  4. Hate

and a few others I can’t think of at the top of my head, but as we got older we realized those weren’t “true” swear words those were just words mom thought to be rude so we didn’t say them and to this day they are still words we try not to say around her as we respect she doesn’t like them and she’s right, they aren’t nice words.

But I digress, the story I am really thinking of was about nine years ago. I was doing mornings at the time at Y94 and it was around this time of the year and it all began on a Friday after work.

I had met up with some co-workers for end of the work week drink at our then spot to hang, Tailgators. While we were sitting there I noticed a scratchiness in my throat, which is never a good sign, especially in radio. All I could think was, was great either I’m getting a cold or I am at the start of losing my voice. Needless to say I went home early. Going to bed I woke up the next morning feeling one of the sickest I had ever felt in my life.

I couldn’t move for pain and I was definitely burning up. What the heck was going on with me. At the time I lived in apartments really close to a Hornbacher’s but I could barely get out of bed let alone go to the store to get meds. Oh and did I forget to mention there was a snow storm going on outside, my boyfriend at the time was gone for the weekend and my roommate was at work. So what did I do…I did what any respectable 26 year old would do that time…I called my mommy.

Lets be honest when sick, no matter what age, just talking to mom can make a person feel better. Barely able to lift my head I dialed my cell and called home to figure out what I was going to do. Without a moments hesitation mom said she was on her way and we were going to the ER. I tried to argue saying it was dangerous with the barely visible conditions but I was too weak. Mom made the normal hour long drive in about two. By that time I had mustered up enough energy to at least get some warm clothes on, beyond that forget it, it wasn’t happening, not even a little bit.

She helped me to the vehicle and we are off to the Emergency Room where I learned, despite having a flu shot that year, I had partial influenza. I think the nurses exact words were “I’m sorry but the shot didn’t work for you this time”. Oh goody, words you only hope to hear (I thought sarcastically). But quickly she became my best friend when she gave me the most magical of all shots into my IV. She told me this should hopefully help with the pain and I should feel a warmth come over me…within seconds of her giving it to me a warm sensation went through my body, from my head down to my toes, and the pain was gone. Oh what a glorious moment, one that I can’t even completely describe but trust me, it was amazing.

I was eventually able to go home after a few hours but still feeling weak, mom stayed. She unselfishly stayed for three more days until I was feeling to almost full strength. She made sure I stayed hydrated by pumping me full of fluids, she fed me the appropriate flu food and best of all she washed my sheets and made my bed (one of the best feelings in the world). Even when I said she could go she wouldn’t, she stayed and she’d do it again today if needed. She’s done it for all of her children and many of her loved ones and she’ll do it again and again if needed.


That story is only one small little example of her love, kindness and caring. Her love is unconditional and she has one of the kindest hearts I know. She’s one of my best friends, has always been my biggest fan and I can talk to her about anything. I’ve been told I get my gift of gab from her and that I’m very similar to her in many ways. It’s an honor to be compared to her and I hope that I’m only half the woman she is and always has been.

In honor of her birthday I had to share. If you’re fortunate to have someone love as unconditionally as my mother loves me and my brothers, don’t take it for granted. Tell them thank you whenever you get the chance, hug them as many times possible and never ever EVER miss an opportunity to tell them you love them.

Life is precious so appreciate the ones who are there with you every step of the way. Thanks mom for having my back, for loving me the way you do and for all you do! Happy Birthday mom, I love you!

Leave a Reply

