Adulting

I’ve been hearing about this adulting deal for awhile and I feel tomorrow is when I will do the most adult thing I’ve done in quite awhile. I’m closing on a condo! This has been a looooong time coming.

Do you remember growing up and they would give you those questions in junior high or high school that would ask you, “Where do you see yourself in 10 years?” I always answered it the same way…by that time I’ll for surely be married, starting a family, living in my dream house, working…you know, grown up stuff. It’s been well past the ten years when I thought that stuff would happen and the ONLY thing I can check off that list in all honesty is that I’m working a job…but it’s a job I love! Life never quite works out the way you thought and honestly that’s okay because I love my life and wouldn’t trade it for anything.

However, tomorrow more of my adulting begins and I check off the BIG buying my own place. But what I am really liking is that it is mine. I have worked hard and saved and looked and found a place that I can 100% say will be mine, I mean once I pay off my mortgage, but that’s neither here nor there right now. The point is, I’m doing it and I couldn’t be more excited!

With that said I feel I have a few people I need to thank. First and foremost I need to thank Melissa Westby of Dakota Plains Realty who not only has been the best real estate agent a person could ask for she’s who I am beyond happy to call more than a friend, she’s like family. She has been with me to find the perfect condo from the get go,  being patient while I looked and always having my best interest at heart, plus knowing me well enough that when this place went on the market that this was perfect! Perfect it was, I think she fell in love with it for me as much as I did. 

But she was amazing in answering my questions, making sure I knew and understood all that went with buying a place and that I was comfortable with everything. She even led me to the other wonderful people I worked with to help with the process. 

Like Wade Vogl with Northwestern Bank who was a dream to work with for getting a home loan.
He was on top of it all, getting paper work done, calling me at anytime of the day to fill me in on every step and explaining everything in terms I understood and explaining it again if I didn’t quite get it yet. Not to mention he found me the absolute best rate and best loan I could possibly ask for. Plus bonus…I’m closing a whole week early, which I am told is pretty unheard of!!

Also during the whole process I had to make sure the place I was getting wasn’t hiding issues that I might not want to deal with, so Melissa of course made sure to recommend the best guy in the biz to do my condo inspection for me, Rick Westby, of River Cities Home Inspection. To give you an idea of how good this guy is, I had my dad come in to view the condo because he’s been in construction for well over 50 years by now and he knows his stuff and can be critical of giving praise but knows a good person when he sees one. He too had nothing but great things to say about Rick, saying that’s a guy I would trust to do my inspection any day, and I did. Rick gave me a thorough run down of what he found that I’d want to look at here and there but felt confident in me purchasing the place and that I’d be happy with it!

Those were my 3 that I needed and trusted to help me through this whole process and I thank God for them all, because with them I found a place that I get to make mine and call home. It’s been a dream for a while now and on Friday, May 5, 2017 at 3:30 pm it’ll become reality. So if ever you need help in your process I would recommend them all again and again and again. 

So this adulting thing, I’m doing it and I’m feeling pretty good about it but know I could not have done it without them so from the bottom of my heart I can not thank you all enough!
Melissa Westby – Dakota Plains Realty 701-212-3925 or melissawesbyrealtor@gmail.com

Wade Vogl – Northwestern Bank 218-359-0672 or wvogl@nwbanks.com

Rick Westby – 701-866-7572 or rick@rivercitieshomeinspection.com 

Leave a Reply

